An Announcement and a Request

An Announcement and a Request

Hey everyone! As many of you know, I recently accepted a position as an RUF Intern, which will officially start this June. I’m starting this blog to keep everyone updated on the things that are going on, as well as to share some of the things that I write from time to time.

The next seven months are going to be full of support raising, so if you’re reading this – please consider helping me. RUF Staff members – Campus Ministers and Interns alike – fundraise all of their budget, and I’ll need to raise roughly $32,000 before I can move to campus. Honestly, that number is really scary to me. I’m not good at asking people for any kind of help, much less money. But I also believe that God has promised that He will provide daily bread for His people – and that fact isn’t true because I feel like it’s true any more than it would be untrue if I didn’t feel like it was true. It’s true because it’s Truth, because He is True – and in him there is no deception at all, nor shadow due to change (James 1:17).

I don’t just need financial support, though. I need just as much (in some way, more) people who will pray for me. I can’t tell you exactly how prayer works (“The secret things belong to God,” Deut 29:29) but I can tell you that God has promised us that “The prayer of the righteous person has great power while it is working” (James 5:16). And why is that? Not because of any righteousness we have – all of that, considered on its own, is like “filthy rags” before God (Isaiah 64:6). No, the prayer of the righteous person has great power because of the one who gave us his righteousness: Jesus, the Eternal Word of God, who makes people who used to be his enemies into his brothers and sisters, not because we did something to deserve it, but simply because he loves us.

I need your prayer because I simply can’t do ministry on my own. Being an intern requires being caring, patient, bold, calm, and wise. I have to raise a daunting sum of money, be ready to listen to heart-wrenching stories, know how to communicate Christ in the middle of pain, and love others even when I don’t feel like loving them. None of those things are native to my heart. To my relief, even the Apostle Paul, while he was reflecting on ministry, cries out “Who is sufficient for all these things?” (2 Cor 2:16) Thank God He provides for us in Christ, for without that provision even the greatest of us would be doomed to fail. But He has also called on us to ask for His help, that He really does hear and give because we ask (James 4:2). So, even if you are unable to give financially – please, please pray for me.

I’m still waiting to be placed, so I have no idea where I’m going to be in the Fall. For now, I’m working in the Auburn/Opelika area, fundraising, doing things with the RUF here, and reading a lot.

If you’re interested in supporting me, or you’d just like to know more about the RUF Internship, you can contact me at james.post@ruf.org, or click that little button over there that says “Support James”.

 

For His Glory,

James

3 thoughts on “An Announcement and a Request

  1. So honored to be included in this message! I’m reading a REAL RUF blog!?! 🙂 What an amazing God we have to bless others by blessing you and gifting you for this ministry. I really want to go back to college so I can be in RUF! Haha! Lifting up the where and when and how of your serving to our Heavenly Father!

    Like

  2. I am so happy to see what the Lord has done in your life James. I will be lifting you up in prayer for the Lord’s guiding you to the place he has for you and all the steps and experiences He uses to get you there. There is no better life than walking with Him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

